Month: January 2019

I’m thrilled to see Australian Children’s Literature icons Mem Fox, Leigh Hobbs, Morris Gleitzman, Alison Lester and Shaun Tan featured on postage stamps as part of the Australia Post Legends Awards 2019. I have had the honour of meeting all of these inspirational writers and illustrators. And I shared the stage (and a taxi!) with the wonderful Morris Gleitzman at the CBCA Book of the Year Awards ceremony in Sydney in 2016.

Mem, Leigh, Alison and Shaun (plus many other Australian picture-book creators) also feature in a new book I have written, which celebrates a selection of much-loved and much-lauded Australian story-time characters. It will be available in August, and I’ll be sharing more news about this exciting project in the near future. Meanwhile, you can read about these children’s literature legends and their postage stamps at